Blog
About

9
views
0
recommends
+1 Recommend
0 collections
    0
    shares
      • Record: found
      • Abstract: found
      • Article: not found

      Efficacy and safety of citrate-based anticoagulation compared to heparin in patients with acute kidney injury requiring continuous renal replacement therapy: a randomized controlled trial.

      Read this article at

      ScienceOpenPublisherPubMed
      Bookmark
          There is no author summary for this article yet. Authors can add summaries to their articles on ScienceOpen to make them more accessible to a non-specialist audience.

          Abstract

          A systemic anticoagulation is often required to prevent circuit and filter clotting in ICU patients undergoing continuous renal replacement therapy (CRRT). A regional citrate-based anticoagulation (RCA) does not induce a systemic anticoagulation and prolongs the filter lifespan, but metabolic side-effects have been associated with this therapy. We conducted a randomized controlled trial with patients requiring CRRT to determine whether RCA using a balanced predilution replacement fluid is more effective than heparin in terms of renal replacement delivered dose and safety profile.

          Related collections

          Author and article information

          Journal
          Crit Care
          Critical care (London, England)
          1466-609X
          1364-8535
          2015
          : 19
          Affiliations
          [1 ] Nephrology Unit, Geneva University Hospitals, Rue Gabrielle-Perret Gentil 4, Genève, 1205, Switzerland. Fabien.Stucker@providence.ch.
          [2 ] Nephrology Unit, Geneva University Hospitals, Rue Gabrielle-Perret Gentil 4, Genève, 1205, Switzerland. Belen.Ponte@hcuge.ch.
          [3 ] Nephrology Unit, Geneva University Hospitals, Rue Gabrielle-Perret Gentil 4, Genève, 1205, Switzerland. James.Tataw@hopitalvs.ch.
          [4 ] Nephrology Unit, Geneva University Hospitals, Rue Gabrielle-Perret Gentil 4, Genève, 1205, Switzerland. Pierre-Yves.Martin@hcuge.ch.
          [5 ] Intensive Care Unit, Geneva University Hospitals, Rue Gabrielle-Perret Gentil 4, Genève, Switzerland. Hannah.Wozniak@hcuge.ch.
          [6 ] Intensive Care Unit, Geneva University Hospitals, Rue Gabrielle-Perret Gentil 4, Genève, Switzerland. Jerome.Pugin@hcuge.ch.
          [7 ] Nephrology Unit, Geneva University Hospitals, Rue Gabrielle-Perret Gentil 4, Genève, 1205, Switzerland. Patrick.Saudan@hcuge.ch.
          Article
          10.1186/s13054-015-0822-z
          10.1186/s13054-015-0822-z
          25881975

          Comments

          Comment on this article